Friday 24th August, 2018

Award-winning Unibet Poker Belgian Championship starts next week

By Mad Harper

The third Unibet Poker Belgian Championship kicks off next week in the buzzing seaside resort of Blankenberge. Hundreds of players are expected to attend the popular tournament, which won Event of the Year at the Belgian Poker Awards in April.

The 2018 edition of the Championship, which takes place at Casino Blankenberge on the town’s lively seafront, has been expanded this year and will now run over five days with a total of seven tournaments. The event starts next Wednesday and will run through to the final day on Sunday, September 2.


A host of big names are set to compete in the €550 Main Event including former November Niner Pierre Neuville, who is currently ranked #2 on the Belgium all-time money list, poker presenter Gaelle Garcia Diaz, Unibet Ambassadors David Vanderheyden, David Lappin and Daiva Byrne, and two-time Belgian Poker Challenge winner Arne Coulier.


The €550 buy-in Championship Main Event features unlimited re-entries across three start flights and starts with Day 1a at 1pm on August 29. Day 1b kicks off the following day at the same time and a turbo Day 1c flight gets underway later on at 8pm. Players who don’t make it through Day 1a will be allowed to re-enter again on Day 1b, and again on 1c.


Last year’s event was won by German-born Heinrich Pauker. The 2017 edition attracted 457 entries, generating a total prize pool of €305,500 and first prize of €42,325.

Every player who enters the Unibet Poker Belgian Championship will be awarded points in the new Unibet Player of the Year contest. There will be extra points for all players who make the money as well as additional points awarded based on performance.

Your search results are valid for . More Info
Travel search results are valid for a period of 20 minutes. If you do not book by this time, items in your cart may change in price or become unavailable.