Riess wins WPT SHR Finale for $716,088
Friday 7th April, 2017

Riess wins WPT SHR Finale for $716,088

By Mad Harper

WSOP Main Event Champion Ryan Riess has won his first WPT title after taking down the WPT Seminole Hard Rock Poker Finale for $716,088.


We’re the tour’s Official Travel Partner so let us help you find great accommodation for the first stops of WPT Season XVI including WPT Amsterdam and WPT Beijing.


Riess, who won the 2013 WSOP Main Event for over $8m, beat Alan Sternberg heads-up to win the event, and his seat in to today’s WPT Tournament of Champions. There were 349 entries in the $10k buy-in, $2m guarantee Finale creating a total prize pool of $3,315,500 with 44 getting paid.


There were 102 events on the Seminole schedule. The WPT Tournament of Champions starts today. All members of the WPT Champions Club are eligible to take part including a large number of high-profile winners from the 2016/2017 season including Mike Sexton, the first-ever female winner Emo Zajmovic and Glaswegian Niall Farrell who won WPT Caribbean.


The inaugural Tournament of Champions was won by Farid Yachou who walked away the title, $381,600 in first-place prize money and an extra $150,000 worth of prizes from WPT sponsors.



After the season-ending WPT Tournament of Champions, the tour takes a short break before heading to China for WPT Beijing which will take place April 15-19 at the stunning NUO Hotel Beijing.


Then it’s off to the Netherlands for WPT Amsterdam, the first European event of Season XVI, taking place May 5-13 at Holland Casino. This the WPT’s third consecutive visit to the Netherlands with a €3,300 Main Event featuring two starting flights with one re-entry per flight. WPT Amsterdam also features a European debut for WPTDeepStacks with the WPTDeepStacks Amsterdam €1,500 Main Event running May 5-8.

Your search results are valid for . More Info
Travel search results are valid for a period of 20 minutes. If you do not book by this time, items in your cart may change in price or become unavailable.